

PRESS RELEASE

Winners of 2023 Queen's Anniversary Prizes Join Together for 'Coronation Challenge'

New research project to explore role of Higher and Further Education in driving pioneering tech to accelerate growth in UK creative industries

LONDON 7 February 2024 - The Royal Anniversary Trust today launched The Coronation Challenge; bringing together the 2023 winners of The Queen's Anniversary Prizes - the highest national Honour in education - to explore how emerging technologies can accelerate the growth of the UK's Creative Industries sector, with a particular focus on the role of tertiary education in driving innovation.

This year-long research initiative, led by The Royal Anniversary Trust in partnership with The Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) is part of the <u>UK Government's 2023 Sector Vision initiative</u>, a landmark investment to stimulate growth in the Creative Industries sector.

The project launched today at London's National Theatre where representatives from the Prize-winning institutions came together for discussion and presentations from guest speakers including Hilary Hall, Head of Creative Economy at DCMS.

Nichola Tasker, CEO of The Royal Anniversary Trust said: "We are delighted to bring together the 2023 winners of The Queen's Anniversary Prizes to work on this unique research project exploring the key role that Higher and Further education has to play in developing the pioneering technologies and skills that drive the UK's Creative Industries. The Coronation Challenge represents a unique opportunity for industry, tertiary education and policy leaders to work together towards a suite of initiatives that benefit everyone working in the rapidly evolving area of technology and innovation."

The Challenge will build on almost a decade of research into CreaTech - the area where the creative industries meet technology. Previous research in this field includes mapping the CreaTech sector to better understand the opportunities behind specific technologies and the skills needed to support technology-enabled and inclusive growth, proposing policy initiatives and incentives to support increased research and development in this area, and

public outreach by industry bodies. Higher Education (HE) and Further Education (FE) institutions have also led research projects to understand the relationship between tech and the wider creative sector, notably the Brighton and North East Fuse programmes, as well as UKRI funded programmes like the Creative Industries Clusters Programme.

This work will be supported by research led by a team of Creative Industry experts convened by Erskine Analysis, with the aim of providing a roadmap to sustainable, equitable growth in the Creative Industries sector in partnership with the UK's world-leading HE and FE institutions.

The Coronation Challenge Advisory Panel will be led by Sir Damon Buffini, Chair of The Royal Anniversary Trust. Additional members include:

Tom Adeyoola, Extend Ventures

Rishi Coupland, British Film Institute (BFI)

Sarah Ellis, Royal Shakespeare Company

Hilary Hall, DCMS

Graham Jack, beloFX

Anna Lowe, Smartify

Chris Michaels, Digital Advisory

Caroline Norbury OBE, CreativeUK

Kate O'Connor, Animation UK

Professor Christopher Smith, Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

Dr Jeremy Silver, Digital Catapult

Stian Westlake, Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

Jon Zeff, Creative Industries Council

Notes for Editors:

The Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education are part of the national Honours system, recognising outstanding work by UK universities and colleges which demonstrates excellence, innovation and benefit to the wider world. First awarded in 1994, the Prizes are granted every two years by the Sovereign on the advice of the Prime Minister following a rigorous and independent process of review carried out by The Royal

Anniversary Trust, an independent charity. The winners of the fifteenth round were announced at St James's Palace on 16 November, 2023; the Prizes will be presented at a formal Honours ceremony on 22 February 2024.

Winners of The Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education | Fifteenth Round | 2022-2024

Prifysgol Aberystwyth University

University of the Arts London

Prifysgol Bangor

University of Birmingham

Bridgwater & Taunton College

City College Plymouth

City of Glasgow College

University of Glasgow

Hopwood Hall College & University Centre

The Institute of Cancer Research, London

Lakes College West Cumbria

University of Lincoln

University of Liverpool

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Loughborough College

Newcastle University

The Open University

University of Oxford

Plumpton College

Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)

University of Strathclyde

Prifysgol Abertawe | Swansea University

Contact: Amy Douthett

amy@royalanniversarytrust.org.uk